Love is love is love is love…

I just saw this ad from Google, and it made me tear up…especially with “love is love is love is love”… https://www.google.com/trends/yis/2016/GLOBAL …when so many seem to thrive on and brag about hate nowadays…when so many hide behind anonymous computers to attack others.

I tend to get melancholy at holiday time anyway, but the loss the past couple of days of both George Michael and Carrie Fisher, two people who used their own personal suffering and struggles to help others (look up George’s secret charity work and Carrie was very open about her mental illness while trying to help others struggling with it), has left me feeling very contemplative about life.

Are you truly using your life?  I am asking myself this, as well as all of you.  When you die, will the world be better off after having had you in it…no matter if you are here 20 years or 90?  Not everyone is meant to find the cure for cancer or create world peace, but perhaps something you said to a stranger in Trader Joe’s stopped that person from killing himself or others.  Perhaps little kindnesses really DO create a ripple effect.  But, also aim high.  Go huge.  Do try to find the cure for cancer and ALS.  Do try to create world peace.

I’m 50 now and my entire life has been a waste.  If I died tomorrow, I will have thrown away 50 years of opportunity.  Personally, I need to make changes…although I can’t force people to love me and care about me.  I also need to cut all assholes out of my life and not give them one more smidgen of my energy.  Instead I’ll give my energy to people who don’t hate due to race, creed, color, sexual orientation, religion, etc.  I’ll not give my energy to people who ONLY respond to my posts when they have something argumentative or insulting to say.  DELETE.  Move along.

Whatever your talent is, you have that gift for a reason.  Use it.  No excuses in 2017.  If you are a great singer, sing in the middle of Smith’s Market!  If you are a gifted writer, write like your life depends upon it…because it does.  Every minute that you are ignoring your talents and passions, you are killing yourself.  I adored Carrie Fisher’s (and we shared the same first legal first name) writing because it was so fucking honest.  She may have been writing, in part, to help herself work though things, but in her soul splayed open writing also helped others dealing with addiction and mental illness.

The superficiality of so much social media and me, me, me, me, me is turning me off.  And yes, I’ve taken my share of selfies.  Turning your cell phone camera outward toward the world is a good idea.  But an even better idea is putting the phone down to hug someone who needs it, even if that person is a stranger.

I’m just thinking out loud with my fingers on a keyboard.  But, I’m determined to change things in 2017.  Life is short and none of us is guaranteed tomorrow.  Leave a long and beautiful obituary.

Blessings,

Atheria

4 thoughts on “Love is love is love is love…

    • Yep. Time is of the essence too. We are in a crucial time here. This planet needs help, desperately.

      On another note, my unseen friends just caused an “accidental” meeting with a lovely soul in Florida who inspired me to continue on.

      • Awesome the way that works. Mine are endlessly prodding me (gently) to get out and share my light. I can’t do it when I’m a hermit and homebody all the time! Lol. True…they are right.

Leave a Reply

