El Santuario de Chimayo

I decided to make the relaxing drive to El Santuario de Chimayo today as it’s a lovely fall day.  El Santuario de Chimayo is known as “The Lourdes of the Southwest” for good reason.  Documented miraculous healings have taken place at the church since it was built between 1813-1816.  Supposedly, the power is in the dirt…which I’ve gone so far as to have eaten.  I will say that there is SOMETHING there.  The first time I visited the church in 1998 I started tingling throughout my entire body about one mile away.  The closer I got, the stronger the tingling got.  Today I felt subtle tingling while there.  Inside you’ll see abandoned (not needed anymore) crutches and such.  People also post photos of loved ones in need of healing, or those who have passed away.  I love old churches, and even though I’m not Catholic, I can appreciate the strong sense of reverence and spirituality at Chimayo and other old churches like it.

20161120_111203.jpg

Here is a link to a truckload of pictures I took today:  https://goo.gl/photos/z2t6pEKWoMSydeyEA

On the way to the little town of Chimayo, I stopped to take some pictures of another lovely old adobe church, Sacred Heart, in Nambe.  I also took some landscape shots along Highway 503, which is part of the beautiful High Road to Taos scenic route.  You can see those photos here:  https://goo.gl/photos/k1LpCzZjY3Vfwcwt5

If you are planning a visit to Northern New Mexico, El Santuario de Chimayo is a must see/feel/experience!

Blessings,

Atheria

3 thoughts on “El Santuario de Chimayo

  1. The church was built on a spot where a traveler in the 1800s found a glowing cross sticking out of the ground. He dug it out and brought it to a church. Days later, the cross reappeared in this exact same location, so the people realized a church should be built here. Or, so they say… 🙂

    • Thank you. There is a writer in me screaming to be set free. I’ll never forgive myself for getting shy years ago and turning down Neil Simon’s mentorship offer! Chimayo REALLY has something there.

Leave a Reply

