Wolves and Watsu

I am not a big reader, but after more than one friend highly recommended the oldish book, “Women who Run with the Wolves” by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, I accepted that I needed to read it. As fate would have it, my local library not only had it in stock, but when I went to find it by its 398.082 number somewhere amongst many shelves, it was by itself…displayed upright…like it was waiting for me to come get it! Weird! I took a photo to prove it. LOL

Women who Run with the Wolves

It is a big book and I have a short attention span, but it’s GOOD. I’m only on page 25 and already feel more empowered! I am woman, hear me roar! I am not a man hater at all, but I am very into women power right now. In the past I’ve given my power away to men, but will NEVER EVER do that again. After I post this blog, I’m getting back to the book. I also have other books I need to read about writing since I DO need to work on my TV show idea and then film idea. Anyway, this book goes along with the power of the goddess and the fact we must bring female power back into the forefront of society.

On another note, I had a wonderful watsu session today at http://www.sweetwaterwatsu.com in beautiful Evergreen, Colorado with owner, Susan Lange. It was so relaxing and spiritual. Today was my third watsu session ever. The first time was at http://www.puravidaspa.com in 2005 where a mixture of watsu with waterdance clearly lowered my chronic headache…until I stupidly went white water rafting the next day and undid all the good the session had accomplished. The second time, I went to see Marion at http://www.watsusf.org in Santa Fe, New Mexico (a few years ago) and it was a soothing experience. Today was cool because not only did Susan take me underwater (standard watsu is above water) – I love the underwater part – but she also used Tibetan singing bowls floating in the water for a little while, and then she laid them on my chest and stomach while I floated and played them. The tones and vibrations went through my body. It was lovely. I do believe in the healing power of sound. Probably the coolest part was when she took me underwater the one time and I suddenly “saw” myself going through a tunnel. Now, it looked to me like the tunnel I went through years ago while Eric Pearl worked on me that plopped me out into space somewhere with spirit guides, but it could have been me reliving being born too…the birth canal. It’s hard to know. Susan did say that some people flash back to being born during watsu sessions. Being in the body temperature water, weightless, is like being in amniotic fluid. In fact, when I got out of the pool, I had a hard time walking. My legs felt SO freaking heavy! It really struck home just how heavy it is here on planet Earth. No wonder people who’ve had near death experiences report that coming back into their physical bodies was torture because of the pain and weight/heaviness. As pure spirit we’re weightless. I look forward to never having to diet or weigh myself again someday! LOL

To be honest, I think watsu is so much better than standard massage, I don’t know if I’ll ever bother with regular massage again. I highly recommend it for physical pain and emotional healing. Many people cry or have other releases while in the water. Now, you have to be able to let go and trust your practitioner, so if you are afraid that you’ll drown or something, it’s not going to be as effective. I had total trust in Susan (and Marion) and was able to let go as much as possible. I almost forgot! The Tibetan bowls being toned while I floated started to bring me back to one of my past lives in Tibet/Nepal too…when I was a Buddhist monk.

Okay, that’s it for today. I’ve got a lot of reading to do!

Toodles,
Atheria

4 thoughts on “Wolves and Watsu

  1. There isn’t. I passed away always longing for the woman I couldn’t have. But, I had an important job as a teacher and spiritual leader…so I accepted my situation.

  2. Hi Atheria,
    How wonderful to hear your detailing of the Watsu experience. I do believe that it was recommended to you by me many years ago after I went through my first Watsu session. Correct me if I am wrong about this. Anyway, I am thrilled you have found it.

    Bill

    • I had my first session in 2005. Normally, though, I don’t spend money on things that could be considered “pampering”…yet again, when living in 24/7 pain it’s not really pampering. I should get bodywork done regularly. Right now my yoga headstand bench is helping a little.

Leave a Reply

