My Mayan Pilgrimage to Chichen Itza and Tulum

IMG_1970
5 weeks ago or so I got this sudden urge to go to Chichen Itza while I was at work one day.  It came from nowhere and was strong, so I do think I was being guided.  I booked a short 4 day trip to Cancun in order to make a pilgrimage to that powerful Mayan site and also to return to beautiful Tulum, where I’d been during a 2011 cruise but got sick at  and couldn’t enjoy thoroughly.  This was not only to go to these power places, but also to test myself as I’ve not traveled outside the USA in years because of my health issues.  I’ve been doing MUCH better lately and wanted to test myself.  Except for a run-in with some out for $$$ police in a small town, getting ripped off by one gas station attendant, and barely surviving the INSANE traffic in Mexico (stop signs and basic road rules are just suggestions there), the trip was a wonderful success!  And, I highly recommend the very affordable ($16.20/night) Mezcal Hostel in downtown Cancun.  The staff was great, I met lovely people, and it’s just a really cool place.
Here are some pictures of Chichen Itza from my Canon camera.  (You can check my Google+ page for some cell phone shots too.)  When I first saw the huge pyramid, it took my breath away.  I think I just kept saying “Oh my God!”  You could feel the powerful energy of it and the whole place.  The history was palpable.  And, a word of warning, take the toll road 180D, not the free 180!  Trust me with this warning!
And here are pictures of Tulum.  The tons of iguanas were cool and some were HUGE.  There were too many darn tourists in my way though.  LOL!  And, if you are an “Against All Odds” fan like I am (fell in love with Jeff Bridges because of that film) you’ll recognize it.
And yes, I photographed my beloved Starbucks at Tulum. 🙂
I’m becoming totally obsessed with all things Mayan, Central American, etc.  Of course, moving to Costa Rica eventually is my dream.  The hostel had a great map on the wall I wanted to steal that showed all the historic temples and native sites all over Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, etc.  I have major exploring to do!  i actually vaguely remember a past life as a Mayan or Incan.  That life didn’t exactly end well, but maybe there is something calling me that needs to be finished in a happier way in that part of the world.  Just a thought.
In any case, if you can find your way to Chichen Itza and Tulum, I would HIGHLY recommend you go!  You’ll not regret it.
Peace,
Atheria
4 thoughts on “My Mayan Pilgrimage to Chichen Itza and Tulum

  1. Super cool! You got out…and it sounds like it went well. 🙂 I’ve been getting this desperate urge to go to Southern France and walk the Cathar Trail…go to the old fortresses. I think I lived as one of them! 🙂

    • I’m coming with you!! I have actually heard of two people recently who have taken leaves of absence to walk the Appalachian Trail and that other one on the West Coast. I think that’s awesome. Did you read The Camino by Shirley MacLaine?

Leave a Reply

