Depression took from us a huge light today. :-(

Robin Williams

Robin Williams


It is with an extremely heavy heart and tears in my eyes that I write this post, but I’m being urged to do so by spirit. On this day we lost a truly wonderful person, a shining light, a lovely soul…the extremely gifted and loved, Robin Williams. The world will forever be a sadder place with him not in it.

I have battled depression on and off throughout my life. I know how engulfing the darkness is. I know the feeling that there is no way out. I know the feeling that you are drowning and helpless. Getting through the day is painful. It is extremely…extremely hard to find your way to the light, but it is possible. What kept me going when I was at my worst was the knowing that my life could literally change in an instant. Someone could walk into my life who sent me on a new fulfilling path. I could “accidentally” meet a healer who finally was able to remove my constant physical pain. You never know what tomorrow brings. Fate happens. Miracles happen.

I once heard “Depression is your soul’s way of letting you know you’re on the wrong path.” I think that is very much true. Depression is your soul’s way of screaming to be heard. Although people can have a brain chemical imbalance, etc. I firmly believe that the main cause and cure for depression is spiritual, and that taking antidepressants and talking until you’re blue in the face isn’t what will truly help you. I’m not telling anyone to quit therapy and/or their meds, I’m simply saying that until you address what is causing the darkness at a soul level, you may never have total healing. I know people who’ve been in therapy for literally 30 years and seem no better off to me than they were 30 years ago.

If you’ve ever had a taste of being on the right path, you’ll agree that you suddenly are filled with boundless energy. You feel nourished. You literally glow with life force (and sometimes people will comment on it). There is a feeling of “YES!!” You feel truly alive! You forget to eat. You don’t need to sleep. You are in the zone! When you’re on the wrong path you feel tired, depleted, drained…and depressed. Now, paths oftentimes involve your TRUE work, but being on the right path can (at that point in your life) be something like walking away from an abusive relationship that you endured for too long…knowing that you CAN take care of yourself and you CAN have a better life.

I will say that having no dreams or goals is depressing. But, once again, we come back to the soul. Your soul incarnated in this life to accomplish something, and if you’re not making progress with the lessons and accomplishments you agreed to before you came here, that aimlessness and just floating along with no direction often will trigger depression. Souls are demanding. They will do whatever they need to do to attempt to get you on course.

Go inside and listen to that still small voice within. This planet cannot afford to lose another gifted, wonderful person. Everyone is gifted. Your job is to figure out what your gift is. “Don’t die with your music still in you,” as the wonderful Wayne Dyer has said.

Robin DID use his gifts and brought joy to millions of people. I just wonder if there wasn’t some other inner calling within that got set aside as he dealt with the duties of day to day life. We’ll never know. He seemingly had it all, yet got engulfed in the darkness. We must have compassion for him, and send healing to his family and loved ones. Perhaps we had to lose him to shed more light on the insidiousness of depression. Perhaps with his untimely passing, others will be helped. Maybe THAT is what his final soul purpose was here on Earth. He was so giving, I wouldn’t put it past him. And may he now be out of all pain, happy, and free dancing with the angels…

Peace,
Carrie

2 thoughts on “Depression took from us a huge light today. :-(

  1. love this! you hit the nail on the head. there is so much light and energy in being on your souls path. i know this now morethen ever. I am doing what i am here for. i fought it for years, gut now i have no doubt.

    Date: Tue, 12 Aug 2014 03:39:45 +0000 To: blues_rae@msn.com

    • You are clearly doing what you came here for. I agree. I need to make changes in my life, but still struggle with what my true work is exactly. I’m close to leaving all behind and holing myself up in a cabin in Taos and not leaving the cabin until I get am answer. I’m not getting any younger and I have been reminded with the deaths of young friends that life is short.

Leave a Reply

