Colorado is calling…ring…ring…

Image6-8 weeks ago or so (I can’t keep track of time anymore) I started seeing COLORADO everywhere I went.  I would just happen to look at a car and it would be from Colorado.  I’d turn on the radio to hear a “Come to Denver” commercial.  Right around that time, a good psychic I know told me that I need to relocate, and when I did, I’d be moved into my TRUE work (as opposed to office work that wastes my talents).  She saw me dressed all in white, which to me symbolized spiritual work.  She said I would “bring color into someone’s black and white life” because of the move.  Now, that phrase is especially meaningful to me because ever since Dr. Eric Scott Pearl changed my life in 1996, I have literally said that I went from living in black and white to living in color.

Anyway, I decided to plan a trip during the July 4th holiday and drive up to Denver to check it out because the “signs” have been annoyingly persistent.  Because of my elderly cat’s health, leaving all 3 cats at home isn’t a good idea in this heat (leaving a swamp cooler running unattended can lead to expensive home repairs and drowned cats) so I decided that I’m bringing them with me.  I called one motel in downtown Denver that said it accepted pets, but the nice manager let me know that although that is true, I would not be allowed to leave my cats unattended during the day…which I need to do.  She referred me to another motel that she knew would have no problem with me leaving the kids while I’m exploring Denver.  That motel is located in a suburb called Thornton, which I’d never heard of before.  I went ahead and booked a room on Thursday, not thinking anything of it.

While sitting at a red light last night while driving to meet friends for happy hour, since I was bored, I glanced over to my left.  What did my eyes land directly upon, you ask?  THORNTON, CO in big black letters was on the back fender of a Century Link truck next to me!  I mean, now come on.  What are the odds?!  I’d never even heard of Thornton until Thursday!  And this is Albuquerque, NM!

Now, I am someone who tries to listen to spirit’s urging me to do something, but I have let my unseen friends know flat out that if they want me to move to Denver, Boulder, or wherever Colorado, that (1) they need to hand me a good paying, quality job to pay the rent with and (2) they need to arrange the easy sale of my house at a good price.  Needless to say, good jobs are not easy to come by (especially at my age with only a high school diploma) and selling your house without losing money is not easy right now.  The real estate market in Albuquerque is picking up, thank God, but it’s still not great.  I have picked up and moved or quit jobs, etc. due to the urging of my unseen friends before, but I’m just not willing to do it on faith this time.  Getting close to middle age does this to a person! 🙂 Oh, there is also the issue of Denver’s winters.  I am not a fan of cold and snow.  I am someone whose dream is to live in Costa Rica for crying out loud!  If I wanted cold, I’d be in my beloved Taos. 🙂

Now, it WILL be interesting if when I get up there next week, someone offers me a job out-of-the-blue or I fall madly in love with some guy whose world needs a little color…and…oh yeah, he just so happens to have friends looking to buy a small house in Albuquerque. 😉

I do feel that SOMETHING important is going to happen during the 4 days I’m there, but we’ll see.  We are in a damn Mercury retrograde right now, so it’s not the best time to start anything new, but sometimes God has other ideas.

Play safe in the ethers,

Atheria / Carrie

7 thoughts on “Colorado is calling…ring…ring…

  1. Very thought provoking. I know you are wise enough not to do anything rash and way of life threatening……and you wont like Denver in the winter plus unless they’ve cleaned it up the air pollution is the pits.

    • I have never heard that Denver’s air is horrible. If I could survive Los Angeles, I can survive anything! LOL

      Life threatening? Huh?

      The winter is the part that concerns me. But, if I’m meant to move there, it’ll be arranged.

  2. Heads up – you won’t want to leave! I moved here six months ago after spending my life on the East Coast (all over) and I am completely smitten. The air quality is fine (you can check airnow.gov) but the oxygen levels can be a problem for people coming from low altitudes at first. We’ve had some friends visit who were lethargic and nauseated the first few days but were fine with a nap and a lot of water. I’m lucky that that didn’t happen to me considering I moved from the beach, which is about as low as you can go.

    The winters are find, depending on where you live. I’ve lived through New England n’oreasters and this past winter here and I far prefer the winters here. The humidity is so low that if you’re in the city or the suburbs, the snow is usually gone within a day. Plus, it’s not that heavy snow that you get in other parts of the country. BUT, if you live in the actual mountains then they can be pretty brutal, so unless you work from home, I wouldn’t recommend going too far up because you’ll probably need your own plow 🙂

    Enjoy your trip up! My sister is also visiting and there will be a lot going on!

    • Thank you! Well, I live in Albquerque, which is already at 5,000 feet…and do fine in Santa Fe and Taos which are noticeably higher. I don’t do well at 10,000 feet though…but I wouldn’t be living that high anyway. I lived in Los Angeles for 22 years, so I do miss what bigger cities have to offer, yet I need nature (which L.A. doesn’t have much of), so I think Denver could be a good combination. I found this higher end apartment complex online yesterday and fell in love! It’s a bit beyond my budget though. 😉 But it borders a nature preserve and there are hiking and biking trails. I am originally from Rochester, NY, so I used to experience major winters, but L.A. made me wuss out. LOL! When I moved to Portland, OR, the first winter I was there, they were hit with the worst storm in 40 years (December 2008) where the city was incapacitated for 2 weeks as they were just not prepared for THAT degree of snow. I really do not like being cold and don’t love snow, so those ARE concerns. But, you’re right, the dry climate “should” help. The idea of a major move AGAIN makes me ill, but we’ll see what happens. Like I said, I own a house now so that complicates things. My coworker/friend did say there are much better job opportunities up there as opposed to here in ABQ, and because of where I work now and what I do, I “should” be in demand. But, the economy is an iffy thing. I cannot wait to check out metaphysical stores up there! Thanks again for the cheer. 🙂

      • Good luck! I will say that the cold isn’t that bad because there isn’t any humidity to make it stick in your bones like it does in other places. I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to cold weather but have been able to be pretty active in the winter time (not that I ski).

        Best of luck!

  3. Thank you very much. There is a lot to consider. If I move there, I won’t be able to buy a house and I would like to eventually have a house paid off when I’m old. Of course, I could rent out my Albuquerque house and keep it. It may just be that I’m meant to visit Denver regularly, but we’ll see. Sometimes the quote “Do you know how to make God laugh? Tell him your plans.” is quite true!

Leave a Reply

